GEC announces candidates for June election


2017-05-18 14:18 GMT+8

On May 17, General Election Commission, chief election body held a press conference at its building to announce the names of candidates for the upcoming Presidential Election of June 26.
Presidential nominees of ruling Mongolian People’s Party and Democratic Party had been registered on May 14, and nominee of Mongolian People’s Revolutionary party N.Enkhbayar was rejected. The MPRP held its conference yesterday, May 16, and proposed a new nominee, former Member of Parliament S.Ganbaatar.
Today, the GEC confirmed its approval of the MPRP nominee S.Ganbaatar, registering him as the third candidate for the June election.
As such, three candidates – Parliament Speaker M.Enkhbold representing MPP, former Member of Parliament Kh.Battulga representing DP and former Member of Parliament S.Ganbaatar representing MPRP will be standing in the June election to choose Mongolia’s 5th President.
The GEC officials also informed during the press conference that Mongolians living abroad will vote on June 10-11.

GoGo Facebook Page

Go to top