The BCM elects new Board of Directors and appoints the Executive Committee and Working groups

2019-01-22 16:09 GMT+8

ULAANBAATAR, Mongolia – The Business Council of Mongolia (BCM) held its Board Meeting and appointed the members of the Executive Committee and its officers on 16 January 2019. The Board also approved the BCM’s “2019 organizational plan and working group structure,” which outlines key meetings and schedule of events.
In 2019, the BCM will strengthen its commitment to deliver enhanced value for the public, its members and their employees by advocating economic freedom and property rights provided by the Constitution of Mongolia and by protecting and promoting common lawful interests of members for a fair, stable, and internationally competitive business environment.
Following the revision and approval of the BCM Mission Statement and Charter in 2018, the following 15 members were elected to serve in the BCM Board for a period of two years starting in 2019.
2019 BCM Board of Directors and designations:

  1. Bayanjargal Byambasaikhan, CEO, NovaTerra – Chairman 
  2. Randolph Koppa, Executive Vice Chairman, Trade Development Bank – Vice Chairman
  3. Cameron McRae, Chairman, Kincora Copper – Vice Chairman
  4. Badan Batbaatar, CEO, Sharyn Gol JSC – Treasurer
  5. Gankhuu Purevjav, CEO, Erdenes Mongol
  6. Tatsuya Hamada, Chairman and CEO, MobiCom Corporation
  7. Dashdavaa Hulan, Executive Vice President, Tavan Bogd Group
  8. Dugar Jargalsaikhan, Chairman, Gund Investment and TUSS Solutions
  9. Jon Lyons, Vice President, Erdene Resources Development Corporation
  10. Dul Munkhtushig, Country Director, Rio Tinto Mongolia
  11. Enkhtsetseg Orchlon, CEO, Clean Energy Asia
  12. Bayarsaikhan Solongoo, Co-Founder & Partner, Avinex Partners LLP
  13. Enkhmunkh Temuulin, Head of IFI, PwC Mongolia
  14. Armando Torres, CEO, Oyu Tolgoi
  15. Tsevegmid Tumentsogt, Advisor to the Minister Mining and Heavy Industry

The BCM will operate with six working groups in 2019. The Board also appointed the chairs and vice chairs of the six working groups as follows.

  • Banking, Finance and Capital Markets Working Group – R. Koppa (Chair), D. Hulan (Vice Chair)
  • Economic Freedom and Competitiveness Working Group – D. Jargalsaikhan (Chair), E.Orchlon (Vice Chair)
  • Energy, Infrastructure and Connectivity Working Group - E. Temuulin (Chair), T. Tumentsogt (Vice Chair)
  • Growth and Innovation Working Group - T. Hamada (Chair), J. Lyons (Vice Chair)
  • Resources and Environment Working Group - A. Torres (Chair), P. Gankhuu (Vice Chair)
  • Tax/Legal/Ethics Working Group -  B. Solongoo (Chair), D. Munkhtushig (Vice Chair)

The BCM Board thanks the members who have served on the Board through December 2018. The Board also appointed Mr. Laurenz Melchers, Chairman of MSM Group, and past Chairman of BCM, as BCM Member Emeritus.
The BCM will hold its Monthly Meeting on 30 January 2019. The Meeting will feature updates on key mining and infrastructure projects by Erdenes Mongol and its subsidiaries.

GoGo Facebook Page

Go to top